GameBeat Forums  
"Very funny, Scotty... NOW BEAM DOWN MY DAMN UNIFORM!"

Go Back   GameBeat Forums > General Chit-Chat > Geek Speak

New User Registration is now OPEN - Come on in!

Old 11-20-2008, 08:10 PM
rjg_scotland

Default RE an old thread: Kingston KNS1650R switch util

Hi,

This is a bit of an odd one so here goes...

So as not to be rude barging in on the forum I'll briefly tell you that my names Rob and I'm a student from Edinburgh, Scotland.

I aquired an old network switch off a friend recently who couldn't get it working, it's a Kingston KNS2450R. It can be configured over parallel connection with proprietary software. It seems to me that it may be in some funky VLAN setup at the moment so I need to reset it back to normal for it to (hopefully) be any use - it'd be a shame to bin it as it could be useful for LAN parties and such like as I only have a small 8 port switch. (ok that's a lie I have a couple 24 port managed 3coms... but they're 10Mbit!) So, why am I here you may ask? Well, this forum is one of the basically two main hits (other than manuals) about this utility. It seems to be impossible to find on the web. A couple years ago Kingston would still email you the utility if you asked them. Not so now - they take a firm "not supported" attitude.

Anyway a couple years ago there was a "What's On Your Desktop" thread on this forum. By chance a poster mentioned two icons, one was the manual for his switch and the other was the zip file containing the utility. To my dismay it seems your archive has been removed since I first looked at the thread a couple weeks back so I can't trace the original poster to see if they're still active on here. If you check this google result you can still see the result for the thread:

Quote:
What's On your Desktop [Archive] - GameBeat Community
KNS1650R.pdf is the user's manual for a Kingston switch, setup.zip is the configuration utility for said switch. I fucking love Kingston, they sent me the ...