GameBeat Forums  
"Very funny, Scotty... NOW BEAM DOWN MY DAMN UNIFORM!"

Go Back   GameBeat Forums > General Chit-Chat > The Lobby

New User Registration is now OPEN - Come on in!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 01-03-2010, 10:25 AM
TheGeekRedneck's Avatar
TheGeekRedneck TheGeekRedneck is offline
TROLOLO
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kennedale, Texas
Posts: 3,552
Send a message via ICQ to TheGeekRedneck Send a message via AIM to TheGeekRedneck Send a message via Yahoo to TheGeekRedneck
Default Is it posible for it to be too cold for your computer?

I swear that the NoxBox was too cold just now and being cranky about it. It was just shy of 60 degrees in here and I powered it on and hit up Facebook to check on updates and Firefox crashed three times over the next minute or so. After that everything was fine....

....spooky...
__________________
Operator of GameBeat.net

Steam Profile HERE - Friend me!
Facebook HERE - Friend me!
YouTube HERE and HERE - Friend me!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-03-2010, 10:43 AM
evildre evildre is offline
i liek turtles
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 3,074
Default

Wow. You'd think cold would be good ... at least, for everything except the hard disk ...
__________________
Emerald: i7-4930k @stock, Thermaltake Water 3.0 240 RGB, Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4, 64GB Crucial DDR3, Asus GeForce GTX 1070 TURBO 8GB, 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD, 2x 6TB WD Red RAID 1, Thermaltake Core V51 Riing Edition, Corsair AX750

noisybox: i7-2600k @stock, Corsair H50, Asrock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3, 32GB Crucial Ballistix Sport, 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD, 500GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD, 2x 8TB WD Red RAID 1, Corsair Carbide 200R, 6x Thermaltake 120mm fans, SeaSonic X650 SS-650KM3, Debian 9.5 + Proxmox VE
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-03-2010, 04:13 PM
Sorce Sorce is offline
HERP DERKEN!
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Not There
Posts: 2,316
Send a message via AIM to Sorce
Default

Well, it can't be too cold to start with, I've read stories where some people have cracked their chips because they left the cooler on (phase changers? I forget the name) for a long period of time with the system off. Then they flipped the power switch and *CRACK*.

Right now my apartment is at a chilly 67F, and I'm not noticing anything wrong.
__________________
Phong: ASRock H97M-ITXac Motherboard//Intel Core i7-4790K Processor @ 4.0GHz//16GB G.Skill PC3-12800//MSI nVidia GTX 970//Onboard 7.1 Sound//Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD//Lite-On DVD-RW//Generic Mid-Tower Case//24" Asus VH242H and 20" HP w2007 Monitors//Windows 10 Professional 64-Bit

Tomato: Acer C7 Chromebook//Intel Celeron 847 @1.1GHz//6GB PC3-12800//Intel HD2000 Graphics//Onboard Sound//Intel 330 Series 120GB SSD//11.6" Widescreen//ChromeOS 51 64-Bit
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-03-2010, 06:40 PM
evildre evildre is offline
i liek turtles
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 3,074
Default

67 is not chilly, my heater is on 68
__________________
Emerald: i7-4930k @stock, Thermaltake Water 3.0 240 RGB, Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4, 64GB Crucial DDR3, Asus GeForce GTX 1070 TURBO 8GB, 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD, 2x 6TB WD Red RAID 1, Thermaltake Core V51 Riing Edition, Corsair AX750

noisybox: i7-2600k @stock, Corsair H50, Asrock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3, 32GB Crucial Ballistix Sport, 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD, 500GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD, 2x 8TB WD Red RAID 1, Corsair Carbide 200R, 6x Thermaltake 120mm fans, SeaSonic X650 SS-650KM3, Debian 9.5 + Proxmox VE
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-03-2010, 10:31 PM
Sorce Sorce is offline
HERP DERKEN!
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Not There
Posts: 2,316
Send a message via AIM to Sorce
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by evildre View Post
67 is not chilly, my heater is on 68
Yeah, but you have your natural evilness (and wife and dog) to keep you warm. I just have a sweatshirt and jeans.
__________________
Phong: ASRock H97M-ITXac Motherboard//Intel Core i7-4790K Processor @ 4.0GHz//16GB G.Skill PC3-12800//MSI nVidia GTX 970//Onboard 7.1 Sound//Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD//Lite-On DVD-RW//Generic Mid-Tower Case//24" Asus VH242H and 20" HP w2007 Monitors//Windows 10 Professional 64-Bit

Tomato: Acer C7 Chromebook//Intel Celeron 847 @1.1GHz//6GB PC3-12800//Intel HD2000 Graphics//Onboard Sound//Intel 330 Series 120GB SSD//11.6" Widescreen//ChromeOS 51 64-Bit
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-03-2010, 10:48 PM
TheGeekRedneck's Avatar
TheGeekRedneck TheGeekRedneck is offline
TROLOLO
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kennedale, Texas
Posts: 3,552
Send a message via ICQ to TheGeekRedneck Send a message via AIM to TheGeekRedneck Send a message via Yahoo to TheGeekRedneck
Default

We keep the thermostat at 65 during the day, and 60 at night. Something about an ice cold house and lots of blankets to keep warm that I just find comforting. I'd turn the damn heater off completely at night if the roomate would let me.
__________________
Operator of GameBeat.net

Steam Profile HERE - Friend me!
Facebook HERE - Friend me!
YouTube HERE and HERE - Friend me!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-04-2010, 11:39 PM
Neocorteqz's Avatar
Neocorteqz Neocorteqz is offline
P.P.I.T.A - Professional Pain In the Ass
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cow Hampshire
Posts: 1,095
Default

Yes its possible, but no it's not gonna make FF crash.

I've been noicing FF has been buggy with FB alot recently. I've had an hour FB seesion where it had crased about 25 times. Has something to do with Javascript and flash performance.
__________________
Chrono
Mobo: Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P
CPU: Intel Q9650 @ 3.60GHz (9x400MHz)
Ram: 8GB OCZ Reaper PC2-1066
Video: EVGA GTX560 Ti SC 2GB @ 900/1800/2004
HD: 1x WD Black 640GB AALS SATA2 3.0GB/s
1x WD Black 1TB FALS SATA2 3.0GB/s
Optical: Samsung SH-S223Q 22x DVD multiwriter w/Lightscribe
Sound: Onboard 7.1 Surround
Speakers: Logitech X-540 5.1


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-05-2010, 05:40 AM
Sorce Sorce is offline
HERP DERKEN!
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Not There
Posts: 2,316
Send a message via AIM to Sorce
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neocorteqz View Post
Yes its possible, but no it's not gonna make FF crash.

I've been noicing FF has been buggy with FB alot recently. I've had an hour FB seesion where it had crased about 25 times. Has something to do with Javascript and flash performance.
I chalked it up to FB being shitty. Their chat function runs absolutely horrible on my machine.
__________________
Phong: ASRock H97M-ITXac Motherboard//Intel Core i7-4790K Processor @ 4.0GHz//16GB G.Skill PC3-12800//MSI nVidia GTX 970//Onboard 7.1 Sound//Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD//Lite-On DVD-RW//Generic Mid-Tower Case//24" Asus VH242H and 20" HP w2007 Monitors//Windows 10 Professional 64-Bit

Tomato: Acer C7 Chromebook//Intel Celeron 847 @1.1GHz//6GB PC3-12800//Intel HD2000 Graphics//Onboard Sound//Intel 330 Series 120GB SSD//11.6" Widescreen//ChromeOS 51 64-Bit
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-05-2010, 09:04 AM
Neocorteqz's Avatar
Neocorteqz Neocorteqz is offline
P.P.I.T.A - Professional Pain In the Ass
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cow Hampshire
Posts: 1,095
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sorce View Post
I chalked it up to FB being shitty. Their chat function runs absolutely horrible on my machine.
I've actually had to switch to IE on certain FB apps to get anything done. Farmville runs incredibly slow in FF. Best I can figure is the java engine has some issues with FB. and it's on FB's end not the FF team.
__________________
Chrono
Mobo: Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P
CPU: Intel Q9650 @ 3.60GHz (9x400MHz)
Ram: 8GB OCZ Reaper PC2-1066
Video: EVGA GTX560 Ti SC 2GB @ 900/1800/2004
HD: 1x WD Black 640GB AALS SATA2 3.0GB/s
1x WD Black 1TB FALS SATA2 3.0GB/s
Optical: Samsung SH-S223Q 22x DVD multiwriter w/Lightscribe
Sound: Onboard 7.1 Surround
Speakers: Logitech X-540 5.1


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
GameBeat.net - 2009 NoxTek LLC.