GameBeat Forums  
"Very funny, Scotty... NOW BEAM DOWN MY DAMN UNIFORM!"

Go Back   GameBeat Forums > General Chit-Chat > The Lobby

New User Registration is now OPEN - Come on in!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #4991  
Old 11-21-2017, 08:07 PM
evildre evildre is offline
i liek turtles
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 3,074
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGeekRedneck View Post
Specific downfalls to that? I'm not up on my network shit, I just want it to work. As long as my AC68U is being passed everything (since it will be exposed in the DMZ) it should be cool, right?

I suppose I could ditch the AC68U and rely on the AT&T supplied gateway for routing duties, but I have a feeling that would really piss me off. I remember the old U-Verse Gateway my parents had being absolutely retarded as far as the UI and advanced routing abilities went. Like, NO options for QoS and bandwidth limiting...
Nothing in home use really, just extra stuff to take into account if you're exposing things to the internet. Just requires a bit of extra care to get public-facing devices set up correctly.

The AT&T supplied gateway has poor wireless range compared to the R8000 I put in its place. DD-WRT gave me QoS, bandwidth limiting, and so on. The AT&T gateway has a really basic, ugly web interface that doesn't give you much in the way of configuration options. Sure, you can configure your own SSID/key, block specific MACs, change your DHCP range, poke pinholes in the firewall etc., but your own router will give you much better config options.

<edit> Also, Netgear's default firmware sucks. Good going Netgear, choking out on an upstream 16-port unmanaged switch. DD-WRT doesn't shart when it encounters exactly the same situation.
__________________
Emerald: i7-4930k @stock, Thermaltake Water 3.0 240 RGB, Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4, 64GB Crucial DDR3, Asus GeForce GTX 1070 TURBO 8GB, 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD, 2x 6TB WD Red RAID 1, Thermaltake Core V51 Riing Edition, Corsair AX750

noisybox: i7-2600k @stock, Corsair H50, Asrock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3, 32GB Crucial Ballistix Sport, 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD, 500GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD, 2x 8TB WD Red RAID 1, Corsair Carbide 200R, 6x Thermaltake 120mm fans, SeaSonic X650 SS-650KM3, Debian 9.5 + Proxmox VE
Reply With Quote
  #4992  
Old 11-23-2017, 09:54 AM
evildre evildre is offline
i liek turtles
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 3,074
Default

I decided to start downloading Steam games to my C: drive (SSD) and then moving them to my D: drive (HDD) until I want to play them, at which point I move them back to C:. That way, I get the best I/O performance out of the game I'm actively playing, with a ton of slow/offline storage to keep them ready to go. Love the built-in "move game to other folder" feature of Steam, and the SSD cache works really well.

After BL2 I think I'll run through Wolfenstein II and its DLC, followed by Far Cry. All of them -- 1, 2, 3, Blood Dragon, Primal, and 4. Thinking of doing the fast 4 runthrough, which means you shoot Pagan Min. Might actually wait for Min to finish his phone call or something, after getting captured. Don't need to fire a single shot for that one. But I may play it through as intended as well. After Far Cry I'll move on to The Witcher, as I haven't played any of those.

Also, it appears that there was a bad file in BL2, which caused my stream to hang twice yesterday. I ran through the missions that kept failing yesterday off-stream after validating the files in Steam and repairing the broken file.

Thinking of taking a look at Warframe as well, since it appears to be regarded as "Free to Play done right."
__________________
Emerald: i7-4930k @stock, Thermaltake Water 3.0 240 RGB, Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4, 64GB Crucial DDR3, Asus GeForce GTX 1070 TURBO 8GB, 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD, 2x 6TB WD Red RAID 1, Thermaltake Core V51 Riing Edition, Corsair AX750

noisybox: i7-2600k @stock, Corsair H50, Asrock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3, 32GB Crucial Ballistix Sport, 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD, 500GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD, 2x 8TB WD Red RAID 1, Corsair Carbide 200R, 6x Thermaltake 120mm fans, SeaSonic X650 SS-650KM3, Debian 9.5 + Proxmox VE
Reply With Quote
  #4993  
Old 11-24-2017, 06:39 PM
evildre evildre is offline
i liek turtles
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 3,074
Default

Trying to figure out what I can pair with IFTTT to have my outdoor lights cycle between colors without having to install another app. Philips Hue Labs has something that does it, but it's buggy as hell and doesn't cycle between 3 colors without blending (i.e. if I want to go #FF0000 to #00FF00, it'll pass through yellow on the way ... which I don't want for Christmas lighting). Lampshade.io does it, but it ignores Android battery optimizations when it runs in the background, and I can't wrap a trigger around the function ("turn this on at sunset and change bulb colors every 10 minutes").

IFTTT doesn't appear to be able to allow for multiple "thats". I can have it switch colors at :00, :15, :30, and :45 past the hour, but my concern is that it will leave the lights on during the day, which I don't want.

There's a Tasker plugin called AutoHue that appears to be able to do it, but it's $1.39, and I want to exhaust all possible free options before dipping into my Play credit. Also, AutoHue only runs when you're on local WiFi, which is useless because I'm only on local WiFi well after sunset. There are other Tasker plugins, but they depend on other paid apps.

I wonder if I can get my Raspberry Pi to cycle them ... I already have a DarkSky API key so I can pull accurate sunrise/sunset times, but I'll have to learn the Hue API as well.
__________________
Emerald: i7-4930k @stock, Thermaltake Water 3.0 240 RGB, Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4, 64GB Crucial DDR3, Asus GeForce GTX 1070 TURBO 8GB, 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD, 2x 6TB WD Red RAID 1, Thermaltake Core V51 Riing Edition, Corsair AX750

noisybox: i7-2600k @stock, Corsair H50, Asrock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3, 32GB Crucial Ballistix Sport, 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD, 500GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD, 2x 8TB WD Red RAID 1, Corsair Carbide 200R, 6x Thermaltake 120mm fans, SeaSonic X650 SS-650KM3, Debian 9.5 + Proxmox VE
Reply With Quote
  #4994  
Old 11-24-2017, 06:54 PM
runt's Avatar
runt runt is offline
teh gun geek
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 2,143
Default

Ran a after line for our new fridge, it gets delivered tomorrow. Going out to eat now and after that my dad and I have to move our current fridge into the garage


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
View my Linkedin profile
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoda
Do or do not, there is no try.
-----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK-----
Version: 3.1
GCS/IT/CM/O d- s+:+ a c++++ B P--- L+ E---- W+++ N o-- K- w+++++ O---- M V-- PS+ PE+ Y+ PGP t 5 X-- R- tv+ b+ DI++ D++ G e++ h---- r+++ y++++
------END GEEK CODE BLOCK------

My Steam Profile (from SteamDB)
  • Worth: $1525 ($1000 with sales)
  • Games owned: 358
  • Games played: 124 (34%)
  • Hours on record: 875.6h
Reply With Quote
  #4995  
Old 11-25-2017, 10:43 PM
evildre evildre is offline
i liek turtles
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 3,074
Default

I'm at work.

For home, I need to devise a solution for a newly-discovered problem: guests like to turn our light switches off, which we don't need to do with the Hue bulbs. Shouldn't be too bad, though.
__________________
Emerald: i7-4930k @stock, Thermaltake Water 3.0 240 RGB, Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4, 64GB Crucial DDR3, Asus GeForce GTX 1070 TURBO 8GB, 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD, 2x 6TB WD Red RAID 1, Thermaltake Core V51 Riing Edition, Corsair AX750

noisybox: i7-2600k @stock, Corsair H50, Asrock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3, 32GB Crucial Ballistix Sport, 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD, 500GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD, 2x 8TB WD Red RAID 1, Corsair Carbide 200R, 6x Thermaltake 120mm fans, SeaSonic X650 SS-650KM3, Debian 9.5 + Proxmox VE
Reply With Quote
  #4996  
Old 11-25-2017, 11:44 PM
runt's Avatar
runt runt is offline
teh gun geek
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 2,143
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by evildre View Post
I'm at work.

For home, I need to devise a solution for a newly-discovered problem: guests like to turn our light switches off, which we don't need to do with the Hue bulbs. Shouldn't be too bad, though.


Jumper write on the back of the light switch?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
View my Linkedin profile
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoda
Do or do not, there is no try.
-----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK-----
Version: 3.1
GCS/IT/CM/O d- s+:+ a c++++ B P--- L+ E---- W+++ N o-- K- w+++++ O---- M V-- PS+ PE+ Y+ PGP t 5 X-- R- tv+ b+ DI++ D++ G e++ h---- r+++ y++++
------END GEEK CODE BLOCK------

My Steam Profile (from SteamDB)
  • Worth: $1525 ($1000 with sales)
  • Games owned: 358
  • Games played: 124 (34%)
  • Hours on record: 875.6h
Reply With Quote
  #4997  
Old 11-26-2017, 12:21 PM
evildre evildre is offline
i liek turtles
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 3,074
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by runt View Post
Jumper write on the back of the light switch?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Better. Either this or this. I'm leaning toward the second one because I'm having trouble envisioning a scenario in which I need to flip the switch.

I need something like this as well, but I can't use that exact one because there's only one screw in between the two switches. Maybe I'll combine the two into one piece, because I can.
__________________
Emerald: i7-4930k @stock, Thermaltake Water 3.0 240 RGB, Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4, 64GB Crucial DDR3, Asus GeForce GTX 1070 TURBO 8GB, 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD, 2x 6TB WD Red RAID 1, Thermaltake Core V51 Riing Edition, Corsair AX750

noisybox: i7-2600k @stock, Corsair H50, Asrock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3, 32GB Crucial Ballistix Sport, 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD, 500GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD, 2x 8TB WD Red RAID 1, Corsair Carbide 200R, 6x Thermaltake 120mm fans, SeaSonic X650 SS-650KM3, Debian 9.5 + Proxmox VE
Reply With Quote
  #4998  
Old 11-27-2017, 03:28 AM
TheGeekRedneck's Avatar
TheGeekRedneck TheGeekRedneck is offline
TROLOLO
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kennedale, Texas
Posts: 3,552
Send a message via ICQ to TheGeekRedneck Send a message via AIM to TheGeekRedneck Send a message via Yahoo to TheGeekRedneck
Default

T'was the night before fiber and all through the house.... (speedtest before, Charter Spectrum):

__________________
Operator of GameBeat.net

Steam Profile HERE - Friend me!
Facebook HERE - Friend me!
YouTube HERE and HERE - Friend me!
Reply With Quote
  #4999  
Old 11-27-2017, 07:35 AM
evildre evildre is offline
i liek turtles
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 3,074
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGeekRedneck View Post
T'was the night before fiber and all through the house.... (speedtest before, Charter Spectrum):

Even with this and not the gigabit, jealous level = so. Only way I can get this is with Comcast, and I was able to cut my TV/internet bill (I was paying ~100 for DirecTV and $90 for Comcast, and by taking the 30 Mbps hit and going with AT&T I'm at 147 all told).



Now that we restrict staff traffic to 100 Mbps at the office (on dual gigabit lines, used primarily by customers) by using a proxy server, gigabit internet access exists only as a memory for me It's not a "one rule for me, another for thee" situation -- everyone lives behind the proxy, including the CEO, and given that one of my monitors is a 40" 4k, I must provide an example to the rest of the staff out on the floor.

Also, the above figure is utter bullshit. If I stand up on my roof I can see the Chicago skyline, which I again verified on Saturday when I was up there putting up the Christmas lights. You know, because I wanted to make sure the town I live in didn't move farther away from Chicago, the third-most populous metropolitan area in the fucking country. Thanks for wasting $400 billion, telecoms companies, and thanks for considering killing net neutrality like a bunch of clueless dingleberries. Ajit Pai is a carrot.
__________________
Emerald: i7-4930k @stock, Thermaltake Water 3.0 240 RGB, Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4, 64GB Crucial DDR3, Asus GeForce GTX 1070 TURBO 8GB, 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD, 2x 6TB WD Red RAID 1, Thermaltake Core V51 Riing Edition, Corsair AX750

noisybox: i7-2600k @stock, Corsair H50, Asrock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3, 32GB Crucial Ballistix Sport, 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD, 500GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD, 2x 8TB WD Red RAID 1, Corsair Carbide 200R, 6x Thermaltake 120mm fans, SeaSonic X650 SS-650KM3, Debian 9.5 + Proxmox VE
Reply With Quote
  #5000  
Old 11-27-2017, 08:34 AM
runt's Avatar
runt runt is offline
teh gun geek
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 2,143
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGeekRedneck View Post
T'was the night before fiber and all through the house.... (speedtest before, Charter Spectrum):

Best I can get at home is 60/5
__________________
View my Linkedin profile
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoda
Do or do not, there is no try.
-----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK-----
Version: 3.1
GCS/IT/CM/O d- s+:+ a c++++ B P--- L+ E---- W+++ N o-- K- w+++++ O---- M V-- PS+ PE+ Y+ PGP t 5 X-- R- tv+ b+ DI++ D++ G e++ h---- r+++ y++++
------END GEEK CODE BLOCK------

My Steam Profile (from SteamDB)
  • Worth: $1525 ($1000 with sales)
  • Games owned: 358
  • Games played: 124 (34%)
  • Hours on record: 875.6h
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
GameBeat.net - 2009 NoxTek LLC.