GameBeat Forums  
"Very funny, Scotty... NOW BEAM DOWN MY DAMN UNIFORM!"

Go Back   GameBeat Forums > General Chit-Chat > The Lobby

New User Registration is now OPEN - Come on in!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #4981  
Old 11-20-2017, 01:23 AM
TheGeekRedneck's Avatar
TheGeekRedneck TheGeekRedneck is offline
TROLOLO
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kennedale, Texas
Posts: 3,526
Send a message via ICQ to TheGeekRedneck Send a message via AIM to TheGeekRedneck Send a message via Yahoo to TheGeekRedneck
Default

Holy fucking shit RAM prices have gotten insane...

The very same kit of G'Skill Ripjaws DDR4 3200 that I paid $209 for back in June of 2016 now sells for $369.

Holy. Fucking. Shit.
__________________
Operator of GameBeat.net

Steam Profile HERE - Friend me!
Facebook HERE - Friend me!
YouTube HERE and HERE - Friend me!
Reply With Quote
  #4982  
Old 11-20-2017, 08:06 PM
evildre evildre is offline
i liek turtles
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 2,982
Default

Ugh ... AT&T does not allow bridge mode on their routers. You have to put your own equipment into the DMZ and turn off the wireless on the router manually. Now I've got DSL -> AT&T router -> My router's WAN port -> 16-port switch in the basement.

My router pulls a 192.168.1.1/24 address off the AT&T router, and everything inside my router pulls a 10.0.0.0/24. Annoying.
__________________
Emerald: i7-4930k @stock, Thermaltake Water 3.0 240 RGB, Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4, 64GB Crucial DDR3, Asus GeForce GTX 1070 TURBO 8GB, 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD, 2x 6TB WD Red RAID 1, Thermaltake Core V51 Riing Edition, Corsair AX750

noisybox: i7-2600k @stock, Corsair H50, Asrock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3, 32GB Crucial Ballistix Sport, 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD, 500GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD, 2x 8TB WD Red RAID 1, Corsair Carbide 200R, 6x Thermaltake 120mm fans, SeaSonic X650 SS-650KM3, Debian 9.4 + Proxmox VE
Reply With Quote
  #4983  
Old 11-20-2017, 09:49 PM
evildre evildre is offline
i liek turtles
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 2,982
Default

Okay, appears to be happy right now. I threw DD-WRT on it because the stock firmware was freaking out due to the upstream switch -- wi-fi was fine, wired was not.

Now ... to stream!
__________________
Emerald: i7-4930k @stock, Thermaltake Water 3.0 240 RGB, Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4, 64GB Crucial DDR3, Asus GeForce GTX 1070 TURBO 8GB, 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD, 2x 6TB WD Red RAID 1, Thermaltake Core V51 Riing Edition, Corsair AX750

noisybox: i7-2600k @stock, Corsair H50, Asrock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3, 32GB Crucial Ballistix Sport, 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD, 500GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD, 2x 8TB WD Red RAID 1, Corsair Carbide 200R, 6x Thermaltake 120mm fans, SeaSonic X650 SS-650KM3, Debian 9.4 + Proxmox VE
Reply With Quote
  #4984  
Old 11-20-2017, 11:50 PM
TheGeekRedneck's Avatar
TheGeekRedneck TheGeekRedneck is offline
TROLOLO
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kennedale, Texas
Posts: 3,526
Send a message via ICQ to TheGeekRedneck Send a message via AIM to TheGeekRedneck Send a message via Yahoo to TheGeekRedneck
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by evildre View Post
Ugh ... AT&T does not allow bridge mode on their routers. You have to put your own equipment into the DMZ and turn off the wireless on the router manually. Now I've got DSL -> AT&T router -> My router's WAN port -> 16-port switch in the basement.

My router pulls a 192.168.1.1/24 address off the AT&T router, and everything inside my router pulls a 10.0.0.0/24. Annoying.

AT&T FIBER IS LIT IN OUR NEIGHBORHOOD!

Just placed our order, install currently scheduled for next Monday the 27th sometime in the afternoon!

*HEAVY BREATHING*


Yeah, I've been reading up on that whole AT&T Gateway crap... No bridge mode on the ones they give for Gigapower either. I'm not really too happy about that but I suppose everything should work OK.

I'll be shutting off Wifi on the AT&T gateway / router and putting our Asus AC-RT68U in the DMZ.

So it will be

CAT6 from the AT&T fiber ONT -> AT&T router/gateway -> ASUS RT68U -> TrendNET 8-port GreenPower switch.

I'm also trying to find a decent 12, 16, or 24 port patch panel that's wall mountable...

Gonna have to buy a bunch of RJ45 keystone jacks rated for CAT6, wall plates, and low voltage old work boxes too. I wish I owned a nice punch down tool too...
__________________
Operator of GameBeat.net

Steam Profile HERE - Friend me!
Facebook HERE - Friend me!
YouTube HERE and HERE - Friend me!
Reply With Quote
  #4985  
Old 11-21-2017, 07:02 AM
Sorce Sorce is offline
HERP DERKEN!
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Not There
Posts: 2,246
Send a message via AIM to Sorce
Default

Dre - A(nother) tip for BL2; for whatever fuckin' reason, picking up the Doctor's Orders side-mission but not completing it (or picking up any of the ECHO diaries) causes an increased spawn chance for Legendaries in those four boxes outside Bloodwing's room.
__________________
Phong: ASRock H97M-ITXac Motherboard//Intel Core i7-4790K Processor @ 4.0GHz//16GB G.Skill PC3-12800//MSI nVidia GTX 970//Onboard 7.1 Sound//Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD//Lite-On DVD-RW//Generic Mid-Tower Case//24" Asus VH242H and 20" HP w2007 Monitors//Windows 10 Professional 64-Bit

Tomato: Acer C7 Chromebook//Intel Celeron 847 @1.1GHz//6GB PC3-12800//Intel HD2000 Graphics//Onboard Sound//Intel 330 Series 120GB SSD//11.6" Widescreen//ChromeOS 51 64-Bit
Reply With Quote
  #4986  
Old 11-21-2017, 07:27 AM
evildre evildre is offline
i liek turtles
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 2,982
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sorce View Post
Dre - A(nother) tip for BL2; for whatever fuckin' reason, picking up the Doctor's Orders side-mission but not completing it (or picking up any of the ECHO diaries) causes an increased spawn chance for Legendaries in those four boxes outside Bloodwing's room.
SHIT!
__________________
Emerald: i7-4930k @stock, Thermaltake Water 3.0 240 RGB, Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4, 64GB Crucial DDR3, Asus GeForce GTX 1070 TURBO 8GB, 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD, 2x 6TB WD Red RAID 1, Thermaltake Core V51 Riing Edition, Corsair AX750

noisybox: i7-2600k @stock, Corsair H50, Asrock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3, 32GB Crucial Ballistix Sport, 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD, 500GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD, 2x 8TB WD Red RAID 1, Corsair Carbide 200R, 6x Thermaltake 120mm fans, SeaSonic X650 SS-650KM3, Debian 9.4 + Proxmox VE
Reply With Quote
  #4987  
Old 11-21-2017, 07:29 AM
evildre evildre is offline
i liek turtles
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 2,982
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGeekRedneck View Post
AT&T FIBER IS LIT IN OUR NEIGHBORHOOD!

Just placed our order, install currently scheduled for next Monday the 27th sometime in the afternoon!

*HEAVY BREATHING*


Yeah, I've been reading up on that whole AT&T Gateway crap... No bridge mode on the ones they give for Gigapower either. I'm not really too happy about that but I suppose everything should work OK.

I'll be shutting off Wifi on the AT&T gateway / router and putting our Asus AC-RT68U in the DMZ.

So it will be

CAT6 from the AT&T fiber ONT -> AT&T router/gateway -> ASUS RT68U -> TrendNET 8-port GreenPower switch.

I'm also trying to find a decent 12, 16, or 24 port patch panel that's wall mountable...

Gonna have to buy a bunch of RJ45 keystone jacks rated for CAT6, wall plates, and low voltage old work boxes too. I wish I owned a nice punch down tool too...
Enjoy your double NAT Though it's not all bad ... the DMZPlus (that's what it's called on this weird AT&T box) brings down the firewall for the specified host, so you do go from public to 192.168 to 10.0 (assuming that's what you set it to), but it won't be all that angry about it.

*cough* DD-WRT on a Netgear R8000 *cough*

<edit> Also, 9.9.9.9/8.8.8.8/84.200.69.80 for AND. Whee
__________________
Emerald: i7-4930k @stock, Thermaltake Water 3.0 240 RGB, Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4, 64GB Crucial DDR3, Asus GeForce GTX 1070 TURBO 8GB, 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD, 2x 6TB WD Red RAID 1, Thermaltake Core V51 Riing Edition, Corsair AX750

noisybox: i7-2600k @stock, Corsair H50, Asrock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3, 32GB Crucial Ballistix Sport, 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD, 500GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD, 2x 8TB WD Red RAID 1, Corsair Carbide 200R, 6x Thermaltake 120mm fans, SeaSonic X650 SS-650KM3, Debian 9.4 + Proxmox VE
Reply With Quote
  #4988  
Old 11-21-2017, 07:35 AM
Sorce Sorce is offline
HERP DERKEN!
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Not There
Posts: 2,246
Send a message via AIM to Sorce
Default

Also, always side with Moxxi; she has the best gear. I don't think there's a single thing gun/item out there that sucks.

edit: Fun Fact: Ashly Burch voices The Bane in addition to Tiny Tina.

edit2: You probably have a shitload of Badass Tokens available, you should distribute them. It makes killing easier.
__________________
Phong: ASRock H97M-ITXac Motherboard//Intel Core i7-4790K Processor @ 4.0GHz//16GB G.Skill PC3-12800//MSI nVidia GTX 970//Onboard 7.1 Sound//Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD//Lite-On DVD-RW//Generic Mid-Tower Case//24" Asus VH242H and 20" HP w2007 Monitors//Windows 10 Professional 64-Bit

Tomato: Acer C7 Chromebook//Intel Celeron 847 @1.1GHz//6GB PC3-12800//Intel HD2000 Graphics//Onboard Sound//Intel 330 Series 120GB SSD//11.6" Widescreen//ChromeOS 51 64-Bit
Reply With Quote
  #4989  
Old 11-21-2017, 02:02 PM
evildre evildre is offline
i liek turtles
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 2,982
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sorce View Post
Also, always side with Moxxi; she has the best gear. I don't think there's a single thing gun/item out there that sucks.

edit: Fun Fact: Ashly Burch voices The Bane in addition to Tiny Tina.

edit2: You probably have a shitload of Badass Tokens available, you should distribute them. It makes killing easier.
I do have a lot, don't I? Yeah, haven't gotten around to it.
__________________
Emerald: i7-4930k @stock, Thermaltake Water 3.0 240 RGB, Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4, 64GB Crucial DDR3, Asus GeForce GTX 1070 TURBO 8GB, 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD, 2x 6TB WD Red RAID 1, Thermaltake Core V51 Riing Edition, Corsair AX750

noisybox: i7-2600k @stock, Corsair H50, Asrock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3, 32GB Crucial Ballistix Sport, 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD, 500GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD, 2x 8TB WD Red RAID 1, Corsair Carbide 200R, 6x Thermaltake 120mm fans, SeaSonic X650 SS-650KM3, Debian 9.4 + Proxmox VE
Reply With Quote
  #4990  
Old 11-21-2017, 05:04 PM
TheGeekRedneck's Avatar
TheGeekRedneck TheGeekRedneck is offline
TROLOLO
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kennedale, Texas
Posts: 3,526
Send a message via ICQ to TheGeekRedneck Send a message via AIM to TheGeekRedneck Send a message via Yahoo to TheGeekRedneck
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by evildre View Post
Enjoy your double NAT
Specific downfalls to that? I'm not up on my network shit, I just want it to work. As long as my AC68U is being passed everything (since it will be exposed in the DMZ) it should be cool, right?

I suppose I could ditch the AC68U and rely on the AT&T supplied gateway for routing duties, but I have a feeling that would really piss me off. I remember the old U-Verse Gateway my parents had being absolutely retarded as far as the UI and advanced routing abilities went. Like, NO options for QoS and bandwidth limiting...
__________________
Operator of GameBeat.net

Steam Profile HERE - Friend me!
Facebook HERE - Friend me!
YouTube HERE and HERE - Friend me!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
GameBeat.net - 2009 NoxTek LLC.