GameBeat Forums  
"Very funny, Scotty... NOW BEAM DOWN MY DAMN UNIFORM!"

Go Back   GameBeat Forums > General Chit-Chat > The Lobby

New User Registration is now OPEN - Come on in!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #101  
Old 02-18-2012, 09:15 PM
evildre evildre is offline
i liek turtles
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 2,779
Default

Just got home from the Chicago Auto Show. Didn't take too many pictures (I don't think there were more than 250), but I think they look better than last year's. No flash ... excellent There were still some pictures that turned out bad, but not as many as last time. I can't help that pictures look like crap when I've got obnoxious jerks bumping into me.

Mildly disappointed by what the manufacturers brought out. Acura still had the current RDX on display, but had the new one (the pussified 3.5L V6 version) hidden in the back of their exhibit. Honda had a good 7 or 8 Civics but no Crosstour or Odyssey. Ford had a huge exhibit as always, with two different versions of the Fusion on display (the new one and the current one), but the new Escape was relegated to the side wall of their area. Lexus did the same thing with the freshly-redesigned GS -- they had one out on display and one "Fiveaxis" project version, but it wasn't up on a turntable. The Mazda RX-8 was conspicuously absent (bye-bye, rotary), as was the turbodiesel CX-5.

I did get to see a McLaren MP4-12C in person, and Lexus had 4 LFAs lined up (that's $1.5 million worth of car). Ford had a Mustang GT500 up on a dyno and would run it up to 4th gear every hour or so, and the noise was fantastic.
__________________
Emerald: i7-2600k @ 4.6 GHz, Thermaltake Water 3.0 240 RGB, ASRock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3, 32GB Crucial Ballistix Sport XT DDR3-1866, MSI GeForce GTX 970 100ME, 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD, 2x 6TB WD Red RAID 1, Thermaltake Core V51 Riing Edition, Corsair AX750
Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old 02-18-2012, 10:03 PM
TheGeekRedneck's Avatar
TheGeekRedneck TheGeekRedneck is offline
TROLOLO
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kennedale, Texas
Posts: 3,355
Send a message via ICQ to TheGeekRedneck Send a message via AIM to TheGeekRedneck Send a message via Yahoo to TheGeekRedneck
Default

I've been playing Titan Quest again... this will be my 3rd or 4th playthrough since the game came out back in 2008(ish). Fun!!!
__________________
Operator of GameBeat.net

Steam Profile HERE - Friend me!
Facebook HERE - Friend me!
YouTube HERE and HERE - Friend me!
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old 02-18-2012, 10:16 PM
evildre evildre is offline
i liek turtles
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 2,779
Default

I get to go to the data center tomorrow morning. My maintenance window is 3:00-5:00AM, which means I'm waking up at 2:00. Best get to bed, then ... going to install HBAs into three of the servers and get them hooked up to the SAN. I'm also going to pop a WIC into one of the routers. That one's going to get an MPLS connection, but will be configured to fail over to Ethernet in the unlikely event that MPLS goes down. There's a second, identical router that becomes active if the primary one is down completely (HSRP for the win).
__________________
Emerald: i7-2600k @ 4.6 GHz, Thermaltake Water 3.0 240 RGB, ASRock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3, 32GB Crucial Ballistix Sport XT DDR3-1866, MSI GeForce GTX 970 100ME, 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD, 2x 6TB WD Red RAID 1, Thermaltake Core V51 Riing Edition, Corsair AX750
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old 02-19-2012, 02:44 AM
Sorce Sorce is offline
HERP DERKEN!
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Not There
Posts: 2,107
Send a message via AIM to Sorce
Default

My mouse (Logitech G5) is dying, and full-on stopped working in the middle of a round of ME3 MP. Checked the warranty, saw it was outdated, and moseyed on over to Amazon to get a replacement.

Went with the Logitech G500.
__________________
Phong: ASRock H97M-ITXac Motherboard//Intel Core i7-4790K Processor @ 4.0GHz//16GB G.Skill PC3-12800//MSI nVidia GTX 970//Onboard 7.1 Sound//Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD//Lite-On DVD-RW//Generic Mid-Tower Case//24" Asus VH242H and 20" HP w2007 Monitors//Windows 10 Professional 64-Bit

Tomato: Acer C7 Chromebook//Intel Celeron 847 @1.1GHz//6GB PC3-12800//Intel HD2000 Graphics//Onboard Sound//Intel 330 Series 120GB SSD//11.6" Widescreen//ChromeOS 51 64-Bit
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old 02-19-2012, 03:22 AM
TheGeekRedneck's Avatar
TheGeekRedneck TheGeekRedneck is offline
TROLOLO
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kennedale, Texas
Posts: 3,355
Send a message via ICQ to TheGeekRedneck Send a message via AIM to TheGeekRedneck Send a message via Yahoo to TheGeekRedneck
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sorce View Post
My mouse (Logitech G5) is dying, and full-on stopped working in the middle of a round of ME3 MP. Checked the warranty, saw it was outdated, and moseyed on over to Amazon to get a replacement.

Went with the Logitech G500.
*knocks on wood* My G5 is still going strong after what... 3 years of constant use? I would be sad if it died... I hate getting used to a new mouse.
__________________
Operator of GameBeat.net

Steam Profile HERE - Friend me!
Facebook HERE - Friend me!
YouTube HERE and HERE - Friend me!
Reply With Quote
  #106  
Old 02-19-2012, 03:31 AM
Sorce Sorce is offline
HERP DERKEN!
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Not There
Posts: 2,107
Send a message via AIM to Sorce
Default

Yeah, I got a solid 6 or so years out of my G5, so it's definitely earned it's spot of awesome. So now I just have to last with my crappy back-up mouse until the new one gets here sometime in the next week or so. It's only got two buttons!
__________________
Phong: ASRock H97M-ITXac Motherboard//Intel Core i7-4790K Processor @ 4.0GHz//16GB G.Skill PC3-12800//MSI nVidia GTX 970//Onboard 7.1 Sound//Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD//Lite-On DVD-RW//Generic Mid-Tower Case//24" Asus VH242H and 20" HP w2007 Monitors//Windows 10 Professional 64-Bit

Tomato: Acer C7 Chromebook//Intel Celeron 847 @1.1GHz//6GB PC3-12800//Intel HD2000 Graphics//Onboard Sound//Intel 330 Series 120GB SSD//11.6" Widescreen//ChromeOS 51 64-Bit
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old 02-19-2012, 04:50 AM
TheGeekRedneck's Avatar
TheGeekRedneck TheGeekRedneck is offline
TROLOLO
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kennedale, Texas
Posts: 3,355
Send a message via ICQ to TheGeekRedneck Send a message via AIM to TheGeekRedneck Send a message via Yahoo to TheGeekRedneck
Default

The feet on mine are worn plumb off though, I need to get some mouse skates for it.
__________________
Operator of GameBeat.net

Steam Profile HERE - Friend me!
Facebook HERE - Friend me!
YouTube HERE and HERE - Friend me!
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old 02-19-2012, 07:43 AM
evildre evildre is offline
i liek turtles
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 2,779
Default

I had to get a G9x because I wore out the buttons on my G5. That was a somewhat sad day.
__________________
Emerald: i7-2600k @ 4.6 GHz, Thermaltake Water 3.0 240 RGB, ASRock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3, 32GB Crucial Ballistix Sport XT DDR3-1866, MSI GeForce GTX 970 100ME, 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD, 2x 6TB WD Red RAID 1, Thermaltake Core V51 Riing Edition, Corsair AX750
Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old 02-19-2012, 07:48 AM
TheGeekRedneck's Avatar
TheGeekRedneck TheGeekRedneck is offline
TROLOLO
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kennedale, Texas
Posts: 3,355
Send a message via ICQ to TheGeekRedneck Send a message via AIM to TheGeekRedneck Send a message via Yahoo to TheGeekRedneck
Default

OK thanks a fucking lot, now paranoia is setting in. I gotta find a place to buy a NIB G5 or two now....
__________________
Operator of GameBeat.net

Steam Profile HERE - Friend me!
Facebook HERE - Friend me!
YouTube HERE and HERE - Friend me!
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old 02-19-2012, 11:57 PM
runt's Avatar
runt runt is offline
teh gun geek
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 2,003
Default

I need a new keyboard and I'm seriously considering a Logitch Wave wireless desktop kit. Something like $50 at Costco. I don't really want a wireless keyboard & mouse, but I don't really do much gaming other than SWTOR anymore so it won't be a huge deal. I just wish I could get a bucking spring keyboard in an ergnonomic design.

Also, the more I type on my Transformer Keyboard the more I get used to it and the fewer mistakes I make. Although I make almost no mistakes using Swype

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Tapatalk
__________________
View my Linkedin profile
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoda
Do or do not, there is no try.
-----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK-----
Version: 3.1
GCS/IT/CM/O d- s+:+ a c++++ B P--- L+ E---- W+++ N o-- K- w+++++ O---- M V-- PS+ PE+ Y+ PGP t 5 X-- R- tv+ b+ DI++ D++ G e++ h---- r+++ y++++
------END GEEK CODE BLOCK------
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
GameBeat.net - 2009 NoxTek LLC.