GameBeat Forums  
"Very funny, Scotty... NOW BEAM DOWN MY DAMN UNIFORM!"

Go Back   GameBeat Forums > General Chit-Chat > Gaming

New User Registration is now OPEN - Come on in!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #341  
Old 10-23-2016, 10:52 AM
evildre evildre is offline
i liek turtles
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 3,065
Default

Still playing BL2 as the Mechromancer, on True Vault Hunter Mode at the moment (i.e. second playthrough). I just unlocked Eridium Blight and did the LOTR Easter egg quest ... got some purplz (though they were all non-DPUH pistols, so they were useless to me), and got the Fragger head. I've applied the Green Meanie skin because GREEN.
__________________
Emerald: i7-4930k @stock, Thermaltake Water 3.0 240 RGB, Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4, 64GB Crucial DDR3, Asus GeForce GTX 1070 TURBO 8GB, 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD, 2x 6TB WD Red RAID 1, Thermaltake Core V51 Riing Edition, Corsair AX750

noisybox: i7-2600k @stock, Corsair H50, Asrock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3, 32GB Crucial Ballistix Sport, 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD, 500GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD, 2x 8TB WD Red RAID 1, Corsair Carbide 200R, 6x Thermaltake 120mm fans, SeaSonic X650 SS-650KM3, Debian 9.5 + Proxmox VE
Reply With Quote
  #342  
Old 11-14-2016, 07:30 AM
TheGeekRedneck's Avatar
TheGeekRedneck TheGeekRedneck is offline
TROLOLO
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kennedale, Texas
Posts: 3,551
Send a message via ICQ to TheGeekRedneck Send a message via AIM to TheGeekRedneck Send a message via Yahoo to TheGeekRedneck
Default

I started replaying the original Borderlands three or four days ago...

Last time I played as Mordecai (named 'Captain Pants'), this time I'm trying Lilith who I've aptly named 'MJ RottenCrotch'. Despite the Siren having advantages using SMGs I still tend to gravitate towards using sniper rifles because I just love getting one shot kills so much.

Her Phasewalk skill is kind of neat but I hardly ever remember to use it.
__________________
Operator of GameBeat.net

Steam Profile HERE - Friend me!
Facebook HERE - Friend me!
YouTube HERE and HERE - Friend me!
Reply With Quote
  #343  
Old 10-04-2017, 03:23 AM
TheGeekRedneck's Avatar
TheGeekRedneck TheGeekRedneck is offline
TROLOLO
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kennedale, Texas
Posts: 3,551
Send a message via ICQ to TheGeekRedneck Send a message via AIM to TheGeekRedneck Send a message via Yahoo to TheGeekRedneck
Default

https://gbatemp.net/threads/zelda-wi...on-mod.427010/

I'm about to start replaying The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker!

The way I see it I had a few choices:

1. Dig out one of the FOUR GameCubes that I own, and play the original Gamecube release on real hardware. Tempting because I love authenticity and that wonderful purple cube so much... any excuse to get out the real hardware delights the hell out of me!

2. Same as above, but use a Wii in GC mode - luckily my Wii (I only own one myself, but want to get more) is one of the RVL-001 models before they cut out Gamecube compatability.

3. Load up the latest version of CEMU, the Wii U emulator, find a copy of the Wii U release (Aptly labeled "The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD" and play it that way. While CEMU has come a long way especially in the last two years, there ARE still a few graphical quirks that can crop up. Plus there are the issues with controlling it since I believe it does use the Wii U gamepad screen functionality in some small fashion. Meh...

4. Play the Gamecube release, but on the PC using Dolphin. For those of you who don't know, Dolphin is THE Wii / Gamecube emulator for the PC. It's such a good emulator that it runs almost everything perfectly. In addition, many enterprising and dedicated developers have actually developed high definition texture packs and modifications to the Wii/GC library that make certain games look and play better than they ever did even on original hardware.

I think I'm choosing option 4!

So I found my original copy of The Wind Waker for the cube, and just downloaded the definitive HD graphics and gameplay mod for the game found here.

I even plan on using a real GC controller to play this instead of my trusty Xbox One S wireless controller, assuming I can find my little USB to N64/GC/PS2 adaptoid thing that I know I have stashed somewhere in my garage PC parts bins.

Sample gameplay video of the mod in action (Not my video):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_c...&v=CuN_mIzfc0I
__________________
Operator of GameBeat.net

Steam Profile HERE - Friend me!
Facebook HERE - Friend me!
YouTube HERE and HERE - Friend me!
Reply With Quote
  #344  
Old 10-09-2017, 02:17 PM
TheGeekRedneck's Avatar
TheGeekRedneck TheGeekRedneck is offline
TROLOLO
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kennedale, Texas
Posts: 3,551
Send a message via ICQ to TheGeekRedneck Send a message via AIM to TheGeekRedneck Send a message via Yahoo to TheGeekRedneck
Default

Well, in a last minute change of plans I decided to throw caution to the wind (waker) and 'aquired' a copy of Wind Waker HD for the WiiU, setup Cemu (WiiU emulator), and have now started playing the much acclaimed WiiU port of Wind Waker - dubbed "The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD".

So far they didn't change the game much - the core gameplay and cell shaded graphical style from the original release on the Gamecube is still very much intact. What they did add were slight enhancements like bloom, and more shadowing with some really nice blending and lighting effects. I've heard there are a few gameplay enhancements further in the story (like they cut the final Triforce quest down quite a bit because it was so tedious), but I haven't gotten that far yet.

In fact, I'm embarrassed to say I'm quite stuck right now! I got to Dragonroost Island and threw the little birdie girl up on a ledge and can't figure out what to do from there. I'm going to try again tonight but I may have to resort to looking up what to do next. As I get older I get worse and worse at figuring this shit out... LOL. I know I played the game completely through on the Gamecube though... fifteen years ago!
__________________
Operator of GameBeat.net

Steam Profile HERE - Friend me!
Facebook HERE - Friend me!
YouTube HERE and HERE - Friend me!
Reply With Quote
  #345  
Old 12-11-2017, 08:01 AM
evildre evildre is offline
i liek turtles
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 3,065
Default

I'm currently playing The Witcher. Plan on playing 2 and 3 as well. I'm taking my time because I've never played it before. I'm not expecting miracles for the graphics on the first one, but I suspect I'll enjoy 2 and 3 with the 1070

After The Witcher series I'm not sure if I should replay Wolfenstein: The Old Blood/The New Order and go into II, go to the F.E.A.R series, go to Far Cry, or replay Crysis (because "does it run Crysis" is probably a resounding "yes" on the 1070).
__________________
Emerald: i7-4930k @stock, Thermaltake Water 3.0 240 RGB, Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4, 64GB Crucial DDR3, Asus GeForce GTX 1070 TURBO 8GB, 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD, 2x 6TB WD Red RAID 1, Thermaltake Core V51 Riing Edition, Corsair AX750

noisybox: i7-2600k @stock, Corsair H50, Asrock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3, 32GB Crucial Ballistix Sport, 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD, 500GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD, 2x 8TB WD Red RAID 1, Corsair Carbide 200R, 6x Thermaltake 120mm fans, SeaSonic X650 SS-650KM3, Debian 9.5 + Proxmox VE
Reply With Quote
  #346  
Old 01-10-2018, 11:34 PM
evildre evildre is offline
i liek turtles
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 3,065
Default

Finished the first Witcher. Next I'm on to the second one, of course.
__________________
Emerald: i7-4930k @stock, Thermaltake Water 3.0 240 RGB, Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4, 64GB Crucial DDR3, Asus GeForce GTX 1070 TURBO 8GB, 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD, 2x 6TB WD Red RAID 1, Thermaltake Core V51 Riing Edition, Corsair AX750

noisybox: i7-2600k @stock, Corsair H50, Asrock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3, 32GB Crucial Ballistix Sport, 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD, 500GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD, 2x 8TB WD Red RAID 1, Corsair Carbide 200R, 6x Thermaltake 120mm fans, SeaSonic X650 SS-650KM3, Debian 9.5 + Proxmox VE
Reply With Quote
  #347  
Old 09-14-2018, 03:53 PM
evildre evildre is offline
i liek turtles
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 3,065
Default

Huh. Haven't posted in this thread in a while.

Finished Witcher 2 a while ago. Now I'm on 3. Have finished a chunk of the main story, and Hearts of Stone. Neck-deep in Blood and Wine now, grinding out some XP and getting some good gear to make progressing toward the endgame easier.

On particularly stressful days I find myself firing up BL2. I started a second playthrough with the Gaige character from my Twitch series.

However ... I completely forgot that it was Diablo III Season 14, so I quickly rolled a new seasonal character. Took me 6-ish hours to get to 70 and paragon 32 doing bounties and rifts. Of course, the season ends tomorrow, so it'll all be for naught once the next season starts.
__________________
Emerald: i7-4930k @stock, Thermaltake Water 3.0 240 RGB, Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4, 64GB Crucial DDR3, Asus GeForce GTX 1070 TURBO 8GB, 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD, 2x 6TB WD Red RAID 1, Thermaltake Core V51 Riing Edition, Corsair AX750

noisybox: i7-2600k @stock, Corsair H50, Asrock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3, 32GB Crucial Ballistix Sport, 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD, 500GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD, 2x 8TB WD Red RAID 1, Corsair Carbide 200R, 6x Thermaltake 120mm fans, SeaSonic X650 SS-650KM3, Debian 9.5 + Proxmox VE
Reply With Quote
  #348  
Old 09-26-2018, 11:26 PM
TheGeekRedneck's Avatar
TheGeekRedneck TheGeekRedneck is offline
TROLOLO
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kennedale, Texas
Posts: 3,551
Send a message via ICQ to TheGeekRedneck Send a message via AIM to TheGeekRedneck Send a message via Yahoo to TheGeekRedneck
Default

Seeing as the PCs have been all packed away in the garage for the last two months (because of the slab leak and resulting new tile floor install), the only thing I've been playing recently is good old Plants vs. Zombies.

I was so pissed when I installed it the other day, EA has hidden the "Paid" version from the Play Store, and only made available the freemium version. Loaded with ads, and other annoying shit, it's turned the game to absolute shit. Get this - at the start of every round a flashing rake falls down the screen and when you click it it offers you a rake if you watch a video ad.

Luckily I was able to find a link to the old paid version which is hidden on the Play Store but still accessible.
__________________
Operator of GameBeat.net

Steam Profile HERE - Friend me!
Facebook HERE - Friend me!
YouTube HERE and HERE - Friend me!
Reply With Quote
  #349  
Old 10-16-2018, 10:41 PM
Neocorteqz's Avatar
Neocorteqz Neocorteqz is offline
P.P.I.T.A - Professional Pain In the Ass
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cow Hampshire
Posts: 1,095
Default

Disney Heros Battlemode. And I started playing STO and SW:TOR again. I haven't had my pc hooked up in about 7 years...
__________________
Chrono
Mobo: Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P
CPU: Intel Q9650 @ 3.60GHz (9x400MHz)
Ram: 8GB OCZ Reaper PC2-1066
Video: EVGA GTX560 Ti SC 2GB @ 900/1800/2004
HD: 1x WD Black 640GB AALS SATA2 3.0GB/s
1x WD Black 1TB FALS SATA2 3.0GB/s
Optical: Samsung SH-S223Q 22x DVD multiwriter w/Lightscribe
Sound: Onboard 7.1 Surround
Speakers: Logitech X-540 5.1


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
GameBeat.net - 2009 NoxTek LLC.